Skip to main content


A small group of water supply professionals from the original six EEC member states met in 1972 to provide an opinion on the 4th draft directive on water meters, presented by DG III (industrial affairs) of the European Commission.

Following from this initial collaboration and that the EEC was making more legislation on water, these sectoral professionals decided to set up an official association representing their water supply companies.

This culminated in the establishment of EurEau on 21 March, 1975.

EurEau extended the scope of its work to include waste water in 1998.

As the EU grew, so did EurEau membership. Countries from outside the EU also joined the federation. We now include 37 members from 34 countries across Europe.

We bring national water professionals together to agree on European water industry positions regarding the management of water quality, resource efficiency and access to water.

One thing hasn’t changed. Our members are fully committed to the continuous supply of clean water and its safe return to the water cycle.

List of EurEau Presidents

~ 1975-1977 Albert Achten BE SG Gilbert Bury
~ 1977-1979 Jean-Claude Legrand FR  
~ 1979-1981 Ernest Reiter LU  
~ 1981-1983 Piet Knoppert NL  
~ 1983-1985 Heinz Tessendorff DE SG Francis Rillaerts
~ 1985-1988 Ken Roberts UK  
~ 1988-1990 Germano Bulgarelli IT  
~ 1990-1992 Jean-Pierre Quinio FR  
~ 1992-1994 Ernest Reiter LU  
~ 1994-1996 Albert Desmed BE  
~ 1996-1998 Theo Martijn NL  
~ 1998-2000 Ortwin Scholz DE  
~ 2000-2002 Fernando Porta ES  
~ 2002-2003 Pamela Taylor UK  
~ 2003-2004 Michael Phillips IE  
~ 2004-2005 Anders Baekgaard DK SG Fréderic de Hemptinne
~ 2005-2006 C. Martins PT  
~ 2006-2007 Mauro d’Ascenzi IT SG Pierre-Yves Monette 
~ 2007-2008 Daniel Villessot FR  
~ 2008-2009 Andreas Angelakis GR  
~ 2009-2011 Klara Ramm Szatkiewicz PL  
~ 2011-2015 Carl-Emil Larsen DK SG Almut Bonhage
~ 2015-2019 Bruno Tisserand FR SG Neil Dhot (interim)
~ 2019-2023 Dr Claudia Castell-Exner DE SG Oliver Loebel (2016)
~ 2023-present Pär Dalhielm SE  


Our Articles of Association can be found pdf here (243 KB)

Continue reading

Subscribe to our newsletter

Copyright EurEau 2024 - Website by